The Twitter app is kicking people who follow links to the App store, and a William Hill app

EDIT: More info here: https://discussions.apple.com/message/24707599#24707599

Which is odd. I first noticed it earlier tonight  when I followed a link to a local newspaper story, and half way through reading it, without me clicking anything, the app store slid in, and showed me the William Hill app. I searched on Twitter, it’s happened to at least three other people.

And Sugarscape too apparently:

Is this a glitch in Twitter? It seems to be happening to all kinds of different links, not one page in particular. Or is it some kind of ingenious hack by William Hill to get people downloading their app? I doubt it, but it is intriguing.

For me it’s been on the iPhone Twitter app, but it may be affecting Android too…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

