Forget the 1TB issue, what has Yahoo done to Flickr’s design layout?

We’ve seen a few Flickr design tweaks in the last few years, but this is the first time I’ve really scratched my head at what seems quite drastic. The big news seems to be about the free 1TB storage, which I’m still getting my head around. I’m a Pro (paid) user so what does that mean for me? Do I need Pro any more, and if so, what for?

The bigger issue is when you start looking around the design. Single image pages are one of the most commonly seen layouts in Flickr, but it now seems to include a LOT of whitespace. On my Macbook, you can see below what I see above the fold, and then below the fold when I scroll down. Look at all that wasted space on the sides. What was wrong with the old design, where images went on the left and info on the right? I’m sure Yahoo would tell us this went  through a lot of user engagement research, but I sometimes wonder how these studies take place – I’d love to be a fly on the wall. If people were shown the following design and all ticked it off, then that’s fine, I’ll just get used to it. I’m not convinced that’s the whole story though.

Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 07.58.27Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 07.59.50

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forget the 1TB issue, what has Yahoo done to Flickr’s design layout?

  1. Peter Morgan says:

    As a pro user you now have the privilege of paying twice as much for less storage and upload caps.

Leave a Reply

