This elephant’s head may be responsible for my fear of stuffed animals

Media_httpfarm1static_ucddb

First point: Interestingly, lots of people seem to be afraid of stuffed animals, but there is no phobia name for it. My best guess, taxidermaphobia.

We recently went to the Horniman Museum in London and I was reminded of how afraid I am of stuffed animals, especially when in large quantities in museums. It’s generally the larger things that concern me. Anyway I always come back to an experience at Tring Museum as a child, coming through a doorway, looking above me, and seeing a huge elephant’s head hanging over it looking down at me. And through the power of the internet, I reckon it’s the one in this photo. I’m not sure if it’s still over a doorway, as this might have been as many as 30 years ago.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

