Brioche St Genix in a breadmaker

When in France, my mum often gets Brioche St Genix, with candied almonds inside it, as shown here. 

I’ve been having it since I was a wee nipper. Yesterday my mum visited and brought just some of the candy stuff, in balls (no almonds). So, rather than eat handfuls of basically sugar, I tried making a brioche, in my breadmaker, for #sundaybakeoff. This is what came out of the breadmaker:

Media_httpayfrogcomim_ahmgc

It was kind of successful, but came out looking more like a loaf than a brioche shape… maybe next time I’ll just dump the dough on a baking tray once the breadmaker’s finished with it and see if it makes a rounder shape in the oven.As it was, I set up the breadmaker to create a brioche as per some instructions, and then threw in the candied sweet bits as it was kneading, making sure they got mixed in. Although I should have done this a bit later in the proces so they didn’t blend and melt in so much. It is very nice and light and will be lovely for breakfast, maybe with jam. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

