8mm Cine Club, an idea I’d like some help with.

I was recently going through some old 8mm cine reels I had kicking around from my time at college and university. As always, once the projector was setup and I had them projecting onto a piece of wall in our lounge, I was reminded of how lovely they are, and how I don’t often get the opportunity to dig out the projector in order to play them. Like most people, I tend to watch television rather than have a film projector set up in my lounge, but it’s sad to think that there are films out there, a dying format, that probably won’t ever get played again.

It got me thinking.

How many other people are in the same boat? They have a few, or maybe only one 8mm reel but hardly ever have the opportunity to watch it. Or just as likely, don’t have a working projector. In which case, short of looking at a few of the frames, they might not have a good idea of what’s even on the film. So I would like to propose the 8mm Cine Club, an opportunity for people with 8mm cine films to bring along their reels and I’ll play them back for them, and hopefully the group, to enjoy. In the first instance I’m not talking about a grand event, but something quite informal. Probably nothing more than a few chairs, cups of tea, and screening on whatever’s big-ish and white. The beauty of cine film is we don’t even need any fancy technologies like internet connection, a power supply is all that’s needed for the projector. 

So, if this is going to happen, what’s required?
  • A venue. I will be shortly be moving  to Wednesfield and would like to try and run the first Cine Club around the Black Country area. I’m really open to suggestions at this point: village halls, unused shops, pub back rooms. I’d say it would be useful if it was large enough to accomodate around 10-20 people, but I have no idea how many people might come along, so who knows. 
  • Darkness. I’m assuming it would make most sense, for people’s availability, to run the Cine Club in the evening, when people are likely to have free time after work. It might also be suitable to run screenings at the weekend. Regardless, the venue needs to be at least dark enough in the screening area to project the films, but we can come to this as potential venues are discovered. 
  • Mains power supply in the room. 
  • Chairs. You know, for people to sit on.
  • Refreshments. I’m happy to stump up some cash for light refreshments of the tea and cake kind to start with. It would be good if we had access to tea making facilities though. 
  • People with cine films!

That last one is pretty important, and the main purpose of this post is just to get your thoughts and let me know if you have any films you’d like to bring along to screen and share. We’re talking any old 8mm or super 8 films you have on reels. We don’t actually want to keep them or anything, just show them to the group and have a chat over the history of them, who was there, etc. We have one very good working  projector and one backup projector and even a splicing kit: I think people would have to bring their films along with the understanding that film is messy and projectos can sometimes do nasty things to the films. I’d hope that people might take that risk if it means seeing something they haven’t been able to watch in 20 years. Otherwise, any offers to help out with the above would also be good to hear, thank you. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 8mm Cine Club, an idea I’d like some help with.

  1. stuart downs says:

    Hi Jerome,I’m not an 8mm buff as yet, but am thinking of using it as a medium very soon, I remember being enthralled as a youngster at friends’ own family reels. I distinctly remember the vivid depth of colour, utterly timeless. Hhow has your idea progressed?? Perhaps you could contact me at some point, for some insider knowledge on all things 8mm….aDIOSStuart

  2. James Hill says:

    I have found a lot of chaplin and keaton 8mm cine film in my fathers loft. There is also a few victoria ‘erotica’ shall we call it. It is in the mid devon area. Can anyone come, see and take it away? Such a shame to throw it away if there is a club that can make use of it.James 0779 515 4989

  3. James Hill says:

    I have found a lot of chaplin and keaton 8mm cine film in my fathers loft. There is also a few victoria ‘erotica’ shall we call it. It is in the mid devon area. Can anyone come, see and take it away? Such a shame to throw it away if there is a club that can make use of it.James 0779 515 4989

  4. stuart downs says:

    <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style></head> <body class=’hmmessage’><div dir=’ltr’> Hello James,<br><br>I’m sorry it has taken so long to get back to you.&nbsp; I have not been well.&nbsp; I would very much like to take the films off your hands but , due to illness, I cannot get to you from the Lake District.&nbsp; If they are still available, I would be happy to send you some money so that you could to post them to me.&nbsp; Let me know<br><br>Kind regards<br><br>Stuart<br><br><div><div id="SkyDrivePlaceholder"></div></div></div></body></html>

  5. James Hill says:

    <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style></head> <body class=’hmmessage’><div dir=’ltr’> Sorry, I have now sold these items on ebay and got a very tidy sum for them.<br><br><div> James Hill&nbsp; <br> &nbsp;<br> <a href="mailto:Rangeofhills@hotmail.co.uk">Rangeofhills@hotmail.co.uk</a><br> &nbsp;<br> ‘Rosejoy’ Uffculme Road<br> Willand<br> Cullompton<br> Devon<br> EX15 2SA<br> 01884 829432<br> 07795154989<br></div><br>&nbsp;<p><BR></p><div><div id="SkyDrivePlaceholder"></div></div></div></body></html>

  6. stuart downs says:

    <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style></head> <body class=’hmmessage’><div dir=’ltr’> James,<br><br>Great!!……..<br><br>Adios<br><br>Stuart<br><div><div id="SkyDrivePlaceholder"></div></div></div></body></html>

Leave a Reply

