Numbers at end of your RSS XML pubDate are… your Unique Time Code

I’m new to playing with RSS feeds, and pulling them into php pages… and just got confused looking at the pubDate line of my blog posts which reads:

<pubDate>Wed, 18 Aug 2010 04:38:28 -0700</pubDate>

I didn’t know what -0700 signified, until I looked at the RSS Advisory Board site (oh yes, there is one!) and worked out it’s your unique time code.

AND the reason it wasn’t showing as Greenwich Mean Time for me was because I hadn’t yet set the new Posterous ‘set your timecode’ settings up. I’ve now done it, so will be interested to se if this new post will display as GMt instead of -0700
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Numbers at end of your RSS XML pubDate are… your Unique Time Code

  1. Anonymous says:

    Just to confirm, the pubDate on this one was still -0700 – I tweeted posterous to ask about this

Leave a Reply

