iPad Usage Scenario #25: Working on the train when you can’t find a table seat

Media_httpwwwknowmeuk_ccczd

Last week I had to get a train somewhere and realised I couldn’t even get any work done if I wanted to, because I had a seat like the ones in the right of the image above. The seat leans back into you, meaning it bangs against any opened laptop.

I did the same journey yesterday, this time with an iPad. And using the case to create the landscape lectern setup, I was able to type and work on the flip down table. This was taking notes on Pages, typing up a few thoughts from some user testing undertaken that day. Aside from a few Pages gripes, it worked out quite nicely. And I was aware of how much quieter my typing was too, without the clatter of keys to think about, disrupting other passengers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to iPad Usage Scenario #25: Working on the train when you can’t find a table seat

  1. Anonymous says:

    I like how you’re thinking of your common man with your quiet typing 🙂 I’ve actually had an argument with someone about quiet carriages before – I booked into the quiet carriage to work, he said I was noisy…I must admit, the main time when I think "I could do with an iPad" is when I start writing something in Notes on my phone when I’m travelling on the train – once it gets past a few hundred words, typing onto a phone gets v tiresome

Leave a Reply

