Does everyone want to be online?

Without having gone through the whole site, the Race Online 2012, it's kind of an interesting idea, but the opening salvo poses an interesting question in my mind:

10 million people in the UK have never used the Internet. 4 million of them are also the most socially and economically disadvantaged. We want to change this. We want to help all those 4 million people get online by 2012.

My question: Does everyone want to be online?

I'm not sure I see the benefit of dragging people kicking and screaming towards the internet if they have no need or desire to use it. Yes, there will be people who haven't had the opportunity, and once they see the benefits, would then like to use the web. But there will be others who won't. My relationship with the web is mostly love, but with occasional strong smatterings of hate as well, when I realise it drags me away from other interests such as my family, playing my banjo or guitar, putting up those blinds we bought months ago, etc.

I'm assuming some research has been done with those 4 million people 'most socially and economically disadvantaged', to find out what has held them away from the internet? Even if that meant a good sample of?? phone or door to door interviews, that would be a start. There you go, that's my challenge – it's easy to say these things when I know I don't have to do it myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Does everyone want to be online?

  1. claire says:

    yes, about that blind …

  2. Anonymous says:

    genuine laugh at Claires comment! 🙂

  3. Guy says:

    Look at your previous post. If for no other reasons that you can save money people should have the skills and opportunity to be able to operate the web in their favour

Leave a Reply

