Wordle and creating lower case text from paragraphs

I was just using http://www.wordle.net to create a cloud of words from several paragraphs of text, but realised that as I made the image, some words were capitalised and others weren't. I'm not sure if 'Monkey' is treated as a different word to 'monkey' in a wordle visualisation, but none the less, it looked kind of messy in the diagram.

So, after a quick Google I found http://www.convertcase.net/ which is great, allowed me to make all my words lower case. Isn't the web a useful thing?

Note that I also removed the commas and full stops so that wordle wouldn't treat 'monkey.' differently to 'monkey' – couldn't find something that did that automatically so I had to do it by hand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wordle and creating lower case text from paragraphs

  1. Anonymous says:

    I ??? wordle.net!Also, being a complete geek, I can’t help but provide a unix one-liner to remove your commas and full-stops, and convert to lowercase! It assumes your text is in a file called input.txt and writes out to output.txt. Works in OS X Terminal.app:sed -e ‘s/([[:alnum:]])./1/g’ -e ‘s/([[:alnum:]]),/1/g’ input.txt | tr ‘[:upper:]’ ‘[:lower:]’ > output.txtEnjoy!

  2. Anonymous says:

    wow, thanks Jamie !

Leave a Reply

