The Wire, Dock Boggs, Turkey in the Straw

Just had a very odd thing happen. I was writing out a music tab I had just worked out for the banjo, a version of Turkey In The Straw I have been listening to that Dock Boggs recorded. At the same time we were watching episode one of season four of The Wire, when I thought what’s that tune? In the episode an ice cream was playing Turkey in the Straw!

Well I thought that was pretty weird anyway…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Wire, Dock Boggs, Turkey in the Straw

  1. Tom Bushaw says:

    Funny… weird story, indeed! Did you ever work out the tab for Dock Boggs version of Turkey In The Straw? I’ve been wanting to figure it out myself, but if you’ve done it already, would you be willing to share? I can trade a simple banjo tab I worked out for Suzy Thompson’s "In the Pines". Thanks!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I have it here, but not way of getting it to you… Ah, I know, I’ll add it to the post above, see if that works.

  3. Tom Bushaw says:

    <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">That worked great. Thank you. I haven’t tried plucking it out on my banjo yet — I’ll probably be able to figure out the tuning — is it just standard open G (gDGBD) tuning?<div><br></div><div>Let me know if you want my tab for In the Pines…</div><div><br></div><div>Thanks again.</div><div><br></div><div>Tom Bushaw</div><div>Kennewick, WA&nbsp;</div><div>USA</div><div><br><div><div></div></div></div></body></html>

  4. Anonymous says:

    Oh yes sorry I thought it was ont he tab, it’s just open G. and I’m not sure if I’ve put in the funny slides the Boggs does on his version of it. I actually play this with 3 fingers, comfortably settling over the strings used, see how you go with it.

  5. tom says:

    Do you have the tab for dock boggs wild bill jones?

  6. Anonymous says:

    <p>No but that's even easier to play in open g tuning…. I have a vid on YouTube I think. </p> <p>Sent from my mobile.</p>

Leave a Reply

